The Four Agreements

I scanned a copy of Mindful magazine while on my lunch break at work this weekend, and found an interview with sports psychologist George Mumford. In it, he recommended a book by Don Miguel Ruiz called The Four Agreements. The four agreements are:

  1. Be impeccable with your word.
  2. Don’t take anything personally.
  3. Don’t make assumptions.
  4. Always do your best.

I like the absolutism of these agreements, although it’s an absolutism I imagine is tempered by #4. They are like biblical commandments in their simplicity. They’re refreshingly naive. They appeal to my idealism rather than my realism.

 

About Ben

I'm a young person living in Portland, Maine with abiding interests in philosophy, community, and how to lead a good life in the modern world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

